Environmental Education Council of Ohio
Environmental education happens...
In formal education
Environmental education (EE) happens in classrooms all across Ohio, from preschools and daycare centers, to kindergarten through twelfth grade public and private schools, to colleges and universities. Explore our Best Practices for Environmental Education and grade specific links for information and resources for EE in formal education.

Away from school
EE happens in many places away from the school building. There are many ways people can learn about the environment in the environment.

In government
Twenty-two state government agencies and eight federal agencies within Ohio have responsibilities related to the environment or environmental education (EE). These agencies make up the
Ohio Interagency Council on Environmental Education.

In business and industry
usiness and industry play an important role in environmental education. Many businesses provide EE programs through field trips for students, classroom visits, teacher workshops, or by providing financial support for education. As members of the regulated community, business and industry have an interest in quality environmental training and education for their employees. In the bigger picture, we all have a stake in good education to provide for a well informed citizenry and a well prepared workforce.

                                             
In communities
EE
happens in local communities throughout Ohio in parks, zoos, museums, nature and environmental education centers, soil and water conservation districts, government agencies, business and industry, environmental organizations, and other community-based groups. Chances are your community holds great opportunities for involvement and environmental learning for you, your family, neighbors, and friends.


Interested in starting a local EE program or learning more about EE in general? Look to our Best Practices for Environmental Education resource guide.

EECO's Mission:
EECO leads in facilitating environmental education that fosters global stewardship and a sustainable future for all Ohioans.

EECO's Vision: All Ohioans are environmentally literate and engage in decision making that ensures sustainability for future generations.

At EECO it is our mission to be a leader in the promotion and facilitation of Environmental Education (EE), and to nurture knowledge, attitudes and behaviors. We want a healthy and sustainable environment, and the key to this is education. Through EECO, individuals and groups are not only educated, but also develop partnerships with other individuals and organizations. These partnerships strengthen EE in Ohio, leading to a more environmentally literate population and a healthier environment. You are welcome to become a partner and friend. If you would like more information regarding EECO, please feel free to contact me directly at director@eeco-online.org.

Brenda Metcalf

Executive Director
                                           

Officers
                                                 
Executive Director
Brenda Metcalf
P.O. Box 1004
Lancaster, Ohio 43130
Office: 740-653-2649
Cell: 740-215-3376
director@eeco-online.org

President
Joe Brehm
Rural Action             

joe@ruralaction.org

 
Vice President
Allison Shaw
Sharon Woods Metro Park
             

shaw@metroparks.net


Secretary
Sue Matz
Retired- Lyondellbasell
sgmatz13@gmail.com

Treasurer

Amanda Kriner
Richland Parks
akriner@richlandcountyoh.us
 
Advisor - Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
Carolyn Watkins
Office of Environmental Education
carolyn.watkins@epa.state.oh.us

Advisor - Ohio Department of Education
David Schklar
Office of Curriculum and Assessment
David.Schklar@education.ohio.gov

Advisor - Ohio Department of Natural Resources
Jen Dennison
Division of Wildlife
jen.dennison@dnr.state.oh.us

Past President
Denise Natoli Brooks                     

Licking Soil & Water Conservation District
denisebrooks@lickingswcd.com

Board of Directors

 

Sophia Turczynewycz

Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden
fia@cincinnatizoo.org

 

Tracy Cindric

Ohio Resource Center

tcindric@ohiorc.org

 

Ken Green

Retired
green4680@msn.com

John Kurtz
Kurtz Bros., Inc
johnk@kurtz-bros.com
 

Dave Moran
YMCA Camp Kern
dmoran@daytonymca.org


Ebony Hood

Community Relations Specialist

Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District

HoodE@neorsd.org 

                                                   
Laura Schetter
Toledo Public Schools
lauramschetter@gmail.com
                                                   
Lynn White
Butler Soil & Water Conservation District
whitelr@butlercountyohio.org

Joshua York
Five Rivers Metroparks
Joshua.York@metroparks.org


Lija Kaleps Clark

lija@theenergycoop.com


Abby Rhodebeck

arhodeb@rei.com





Regional Directors
Region 1 - Central Ohio
Delaware, Franklin, Licking, Madison, Pickaway, & Union Counties
Linda Pettit
Franklin SWCD
lpettit@franklinswcd.org

Region 2 - Northwest Ohio
Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, Williams, & Wood Counties
Jennifer Elsworth
Metroparks of the Toledo Area
jennifer.elsworth@metroparkstoledo.com
 

 Region 3 - Northwest Central Ohio
Allen, Auglaize, Hancock, Hardin, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, & Van Wert Counties
   

Region 4 - Southwest Central Ohio
Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Logan, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, & Shelby Counties
Donna Lewis
Clark County Park District
dlewis@clarkcountyparkdistrict.org

Region 5 - Southwest Ohio
Butler, Brown, Clermont, Clinton, Fayette, Hamilton, Highland, & Warren Counties
Sue Magness
City of Cincinnati Office of Environmental Quality
sue.magness@cincinnati-oh.gov
Errin Howard
Riverworks Discovery
errin@riverworksdiscovery.org
 
Region 6 - North Central Ohio
Crawford, Huron, Knox, Marion, Morrow, Richland, Seneca, & Wyandot Counties
Joanne Mudra
jcmudra@gmail.com
Janet Ellsworth
wellsworth@neo.rr.com
 
Region 7 - South Central Ohio
Adams, Gallia, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, & Scioto Counties
    
Region 8 - Northeast Ohio
Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, & Lorain Counties 
Dawn Wrench
Earth Day Coalition
dwrench@earthdaycoalition.org

Region 9 - Northeast Central Ohio
Ashland, Holmes, Medina, Portage, Stark, Summit, & Wayne Counties
Jamie Greiner
greineja@mountunion.edu

 
Region 10 - East Central Ohio
Belmont, Carroll, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Jefferson, Muskingum, Noble, & Tuscarawas Counties


 

Region 11 - Southeast Ohio
Athens, Fairfield, Hocking, Meigs, Morgan, Perry, Vinton, & Washington Counties
Vicki Kohli
 
dakohli@frontier.com

Region 12 - East Northeast Ohio
Columbiana, Mahoning, & Trumbull Counties
Sheila Cubick
SheilaC@zoominternet.net

© Environmental Education Council of Ohio
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software